top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeena Kurup

Oh baby...

I used to imagined myself working in a chemistry lab in search for some cure for something out there. I was really fascinated with neurology, biochemistry and genetic science. I couldn't really imagine doing anything else...wait. That's not true. There was a moment in time I had anxiety, triggered by crowded places and people being too close to me, I thought mortuary science would be perfect! but then life happened.


You see, a young charming guy from France had some how snuck through the barbed wired walls guarding my heart and stole it. Yup! I didn't see it coming. If I had , I would have quickly cut him off! Alas, I was in too deep, and there was no turning back. I moved out with him instead of following my plan of disappearing and being my own person or the other plan of an arranged marriage. This infuriated my ultra traditional south-east Asian parents while his parents were happy we were happy together.


I was about to start college, finally, after moving out with him and I learned I was expecting my first baby. Surprise! Time for a new plan! I needed to be able to support us so that he wouldn't have to worry, whatever happened, we would face all of it together. I had a clear picture but it didn't follow through...


This was how I got into massage therapy. I figured it was still health science related and I could later build up on it. I have learned so much over time and I appreciate the one on one interactions. I am amazed with our body's constant compromising to seek balance (not just moms-to-be, but with everyone!), it subconsciously has the ability to improvise so you could keep going, and you wouldn't even notice until something hurts. I started working with athletes and then everyone, following the flow, I some how got really into prenatal massages and then postpartum.


About 3 years ago, I noticed I was meeting more prenatal clients. Hearing a couple of them go through anxiety with the concerns through pregnancy, labour and what to expect after, I was inspired to get certified as a prenatal massage doula. With everything I have learned over the years as a massage therapist, as well as my experience as a first time mother, I was confident I can be that support for them.


Inevitably, working with more prenatal clients than usual, somehow baby fever caught me too. I learned I was expecting my second, 8 years later. *Crap! I said I was done with diaper days!* I am a first time mom all over again! This time was different though. I knew I wouldn't be well supported by family and knowing more about anatomy and physiology I knew exactly what I wanted. I decided I needed to build my own support system to help me through it safely and happily. I wanted a different experience from my first pregnancy. I wanted one that was nurturing and supportive, one that provided information and resources to get me through this. To get us through this. I am grateful to the people who were there and did exactly that for me, through out and after. I've decided to evolve my solo massage therapy practice, Calme, into a perinatal wellness practice. I look forward to continue spreading the nurture, support and love with you.




32 views1 comment
pexels-palo-cech-286763.jpg
Calme Logo - Light.png

The fastest way to break the cycle of perfectionism and become a fearless mother is to give up the idea of doing it perfectly—indeed to embrace uncertainty and imperfection.

Arianna Huffington

bottom of page